In the 1930s, Yamba was a mecca for tourists arriving by steamship at the public wharf. The Wooli Hotel, the Yamba Hotel and boarding houses were all in operation at the time.
In 1933 after fire destroyed the Yamba Hotel, the proprietor, W.J. Zietsch a soft drink manufacturer from Grafton, decided to rebuild on the Hill. Overlooking the picturesque Clarence River entrance and Main Beach, he claimed that it was “the most perfectly appointed place of all seaside resorts north of Sydney”, with its first class accommodation and cuisine.
In 1950 the building was badly damaged when cyclonic rain with record floods undermined the foundations. The hotel was rebuilt maintaining the original appearance. However in the 1970s the dance floor in the lounge gave way requiring more foundation work.
The Pacific has undergone many changes since it was built in 1934. Jack and Lindy MacIntosh, the current owners, have also undertaken major renovations since buying it in 1990 yet it still retains much of its Art Deco style and character today.
There is little doubt that this iconic pub on the hill has been etched in the memories of holidaymakers, locals and young people who have enjoyed its hospitality and social activities over its notable history.